REVIEW – FLORA AND FAUNA

“Flora and Fauna source the finest organic and natural products from Australia and beyond. Our brands have many certifications and awards for developing some of the best, and most effective, products available.”
image1
I really love subscription boxes, they give me a chance to try out products first before buying which is great! Not forgetting, Flora and Fauna actually offers Natural and Organic Subscription boxes which are perfect for holistic converts like me! Instead of receiving a box every month, their boxes are actually being sent out every season. The price is slightly higher than monthly subscription beauty boxes, but you receive a lot more goodies as well! Hence, it’s really worth the price.
image6
Today, I’ll be doing a review of their summer box. I was really excited to see what items were in the box, especially when it’s summer all year round here! Each box is packed with natural and organic beauty, skin care and body care products. They put 6 or more products in the box with at least one full size product and several travel or sample sizes. Their summer box includes well known brands like Dr. Hauschka, Ere Perez, Zuii Organic etc etc, the list goes on!
image9
Ere Perez Lip Bar in Nude
I haven’t stop using this product ever since I received it. Everything is perfect about this product, from it’s packaging to its’ moisturising properties and colour pay off. It is called a lip bar as it is in the middle of a lip balm and a lip stick. It moisturises my lips really well, on top of that, it also gives me a extremely natural pink hue to my lips. Ere Perez Lip bars are packed full of essential oils, thus explaining the wonderful effect it has on the lips. I will go into more detail about this brand in my next post, where I will be reviewing the Lip Bar in another colour and a few of their other amazing products!

Zuii Organic Certified Organic Liquid Foundation in Natural Fair
Firstly, I’m not sure if it was planned but this shade matches my skin tone perfectly which is already a plus! It comes in a concealer-like packaging with a semi doe foot applicator. I tried using this as a concealer and it very very moisturising, probably because of the Vitamin E in it. Apart from that, this foundation also contains calendula with anti-inflammatory properties and Aloe vera, which is known for its healing and soothing properties. I probably wouldn’t wear this as a concealer, as it doesn’t give me sufficient coverage as a concealer. However, I would most definitely wear it as a foundation. This gives me a light coverage, which I am fine with as I usually like to wear tinted moisturisers. I love all my natural and organic foundations and this is no exception!
image7
Eco Tools Lash and Brow Groomer Brush
Personally, I do not use eyebrow gels or anything to tame my brows. So, this brow groomer is perfect. After drawing my brows, I just tame my brows with this brush and viola! I’m done with them. I’m not sure what else to say about this brush, other than the fact that it’s really easy to use, is affordable and the brand as a whole produces eco friendly brushes which is a plus!
image8
Panda Friendly Bamboo Environmental Toothbrush
This was one of the products that I was really surprise to find in my beauty box! When I think of a beauty box, makeup, skincare and body products come to my mind. But never a toothbrush! Come to think of it, Tooth brushes are really important and is probably the number 1 beauty product you’ll ever need. This particular toothbrush, however, is different from the rest as it’s made out of bamboo and it is a multi-award winning toothbrush! Unfortunately, the soft bristles are a tad bit too soft for my teenage/adult teeth. However, I could still make it work either ways! This is probably one of the best toothbrushes I have ever used, knowing that it’s eco-friendly.
image3
Green People Intensive Repair Shampoo
Healthier hair? YES. This shampoo is specially formulated for people with dry, coloured and chemically treated hair like mine! Oh, and for frequently styled hair as well of course! This shampoo won a couple of awards in 2014 and is made without harsh chemicals and artificial fragrances to bring you the purest shampoo that nature can offer. I find that this sample size shampoo could actually last me a long long time! F&F’s website mentioned that this shampoo would last 3 times longer than the usual shampoo would which I think is really true. I must admit that no shampoo would show immediate results. However, I am confident that with continue usage of this shampoo, I will most definitely see a difference in the quality of my hair.
image5
ECO Sunscreen Face SPF30+
Facial sunscreen is a must in everyones’ skin care routine. Without it, my hyper-pigmentations will get worse and no, that’s not going to happen! I have been on a search for an all natural sun screen that doesn’t leave a white cast on my face and leave my face feeling heavy and oily. This sunscreen does not make my face feel greasy and also works as a great moisturiser as it contains rose hip oil and green tea! It is also biodegradable, make-up friendly, hypoallergenic and there are no UV Chemical absorbers. Personally, I really love the high spf as it’s pretty hot where I live. It does not leave a white cast and makes foundation application so much better! Acts as a great primer too.
image2
Urban Veda Purifying Day Cream
This day cream is suited for people with oily skin, which I can work with since I have combination skin. It smells really fresh and keeps me awake in the morning, not kidding. I love this, it’s like caffeine for my face! It is more on the pricey side. However, a little goes a very long way as with most moisturisers. It is mattifying and is packed full of natural essential oils, witch hazel and collagen-boosting Terminalia Arjuna extract to reduce excess sebum, tighten pores and support healthy cell renewal.

Dr Hauschka Regenerating Eye Cream
This eye cream is specially formulated for mature skin, which I don’t have yet. So, I can’t really say much about this product but I do notice the puffiness around my eyes go down a little after I apply this every morning which is awesome! Unfortunately, due to the heavy price tag and the fact that I don’t really need to invest in an eye cream, I will not purchase this personally. However, I would say go for it if you’re willing to invest in a good and natural eye cream that does its’ job!
image4
Dr Hauschka Bodymilk Citroen Lemongrass
Oh god, this body lotion smells so so good! It smells like lemon grass, of course! It is dermatologically tested for sensitive skin. Yes, it does its’ job as with all the other Dr Hauschka products that I have tried. I love the brand in general, however there’s 1 or 2 products with alcohol which is quite a disappointment. Nevertheless, the brand do have some pretty good products that work! For more information on the products/subscription boxes, you can contact them at:
PHONE: 02 9653 3625
EMAIL: info@floraandfauna.com.au
WEBSITE: http://www.floraandfauna.com.au

3 comments
  1. Lizzie said:

    Ooh I would love to try the sunscreen and the lipstick! I’ve always been on the lookout for a good organic and natural sunscreen. Zinc somehow clogs my skin and it always feel sticky and uncomfortable. As for natural brands I love Avalon organics’ peppermint hair conditioner especially in the summer! Makes my scalp feel cool and tingly and the hair incredibly soft and shiny. I also use Desert Essence’ tea tree cleanser! Really awesome for oily and combination skin. Every time my skin gets a problem a wash with this one as cleanser always makes it better.

    Like

  2. Jac said:

    The Summer box looked fantastic and on the strength of that I ordered an annual subscription and now I am disappointed because the Autumn Box is just boring same old samples as every other beauty box on the market.

    Like

    • E-Jan said:

      Hi Jac, Oh no! I’m sorry to hear that the Autumn box was a disappointment.. Fingers crossed that the winter box will be the same or even better than the summer box!

      Like

Leave a Reply

